How to get a dispensary license (Colorado)

How does one start a dispensary? The first thing that pops up in Google is the wiki how on how to start one. it's pretty general though. So lets jump right in, I'll  pick the easiest state, Colorado. 

Step 1: As per wiki how: Determine whether its legal 

As the world knows Colorado is the birthplace for American legal cannabis. So I would guess that yes it is legal. I'm just going by what I hear in the news but in this industry always confirm. A simple Google search tells me that the legislation on retail cannabis is located in the Colorado Constitution: Article XVIII, §16:
(a) In the interest of the efficient use of law enforcement resources, enhancing revenue for public purposes, and individual freedom, the people of the state of Colorado find and declare that the use of marijuana should be legal for persons twenty-one years of age or older and taxed in a manner similar to alcohol.

Step 2: Jump through hoops!

Once again Google shows me the way. So I'm looking for examples and the city and county of Denver have everything spelled out for us. I'm not sure how many people read the entire thing but its essentially the road map to starting your dispensary. Holy crap do they have you jumping through a lot of hoops. I'll try to simplify for you. You must submit:
  • A State application to the State Marijuana Enforcement Division (MED) ($250 fee)
  • A Lease or Deed 
  • A Zone Use Permit
  • A Copy of City burglar alarm permit
  • A Certificate of Good Standing from CO Secretary of State
  • A floor plan, drawn to scale on 8-1/2 x 11" paper, showing the layout of the establishment 
  • A security plan
  • A Copy of City sales tax license
  • A description of products and services to be provided
  • A tax/surety bond in the amount of twenty thousand dollars ($20,000.00)
  • An area map, drawn to scale on 8-1/2 x 11" paper, indicating land uses of other properties within a 1,000-foot radius of the property upon which the applicant is seeking a license.
  • Attend public licensing hearings
  • Department of Excise and Licenses will issue an Inspection Card but that isn't the license to open your store yet. Your almost home free.
I made a cheat sheet to make it easier!

Step 3: cross your fingers

After you've finished all of the above only then will the city of Denver offer you a dispensary license. Yikes. But then its all easy from here or not....I don't know. further investigation will tell me what to expect.

No comments:

Post a Comment